Current Section


Bookmark and Share

Main Content

President DiSalvo Named Chair of NAICU Committee on Student Aid

February 03, 2017

Michelle Adams O'Regan
Communications and Marketing
(603) 641-7240

Steven R. DiSalvo, Ph.D., president of Saint Anselm College, has been appointed chair of the Committee on Student Aid of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU). New chair of the Board of Directors Christopher B. Nelson, president of St. John's College in Annapolis, MD, along with four new board officers and 14 new board members also assumed their responsibilities on Wednesday at the close of the 2017 NAICU Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

NAICU board members set the association's agenda on federal higher education policy; actively encourage support of association priorities and initiatives; and oversee the organization's financial administration. Members serve three-year terms, while officers hold their positions for one year. 

"As new opportunities and challenges arise with the political leadership transition in Washington, I look forward to working with congressional leaders to address the student aid needs of college students across the country," says DiSalvo.  

NAICU serves as the unified national voice of private nonprofit higher education. With more than 1,000 member institutions and associations nationwide, NAICU reflects the diversity of independent higher education in the United States. Since 1976, the association has represented private nonprofit colleges and universities on policy issues with the federal government, such as those affecting student aid, taxation, and government regulation. Member institutions include major research universities, church-related colleges, historically black colleges, art and design colleges, traditional liberal arts and science institutions, women's colleges, two-year colleges, and schools of law, medicine, engineering, business, and other professions.

Related links

View Mobile Site